Ryogin-an temple

Ryogin-an, one of Tofuku-ji's sub-temples, has Japan's oldest Hojo building, a national treasure, that was built in around 1387. The Rinzai-shu sect temple also has excellent modern karesansui gardens that were laid out in 1964 by Shigemori Mirei (1896-1975).


This temple originally was a residence of the third Chief Priest of Tofuku-ji, Mukan Fumon (1212-1291) and said to be founded in 1291.

How to get to Ryogin-an

A few minutes of walk from Kuri building of Tofuku-ji.

Hours and Admission

Open only March 14-16 and November 1-30
9:00-16:00 (reception will be closed at 15:30)

High school students and older: 400 yen
Elementary school and junior high school students (1st - 9th graders): 300 yen


Click on a photo for full image.

Southern garden The western garden A dragon head
Southern garden named Mu-no-niwa (the garden of vanity) in front of Hojo building. Shigemori designed this garden to be very simple except the bamboo fence at the far end. The temple seemed not very happy to have Hojo building be photoed.
November 27, 2008
The western garden is called Ryogin-tei that means something like "Dragon Chanting Garden". The three large stones in the middle depict a head of a dragon and other stones are its coiled body protruding from cloud.
November 27, 2008
The dragon head.
November 27, 2008
Kaisan-do The northern garden Engetsu-kyo bridge
Kaisan-do, or the founder's hall, that was built in 1975.
November 27, 2008
The northern garden, Furi-no-niwa (Garden of the Inseparable), depicts a scene that two dogs protect young Mukan Fumon from wolves. The reddish gravel makes this garden quite unique.
November 27, 2008
Engetsu-kyo bridge between Ryogin-an and Kuri of Tofuku-ji.
November 27, 2008